Publication Detail

The 17th annual Blue Lobster Bowl at MIT (online video)

Lillie M. Paquette
MITSG 14-04

MIT Sea Grant College Program organized and hosted the 17th annual Blue Lobster Bowl at MIT on March 1, 2014. This year's tournament included 120 students from 15 Massachusetts high schools and was free and open to the public. Teams of students were split into four divisions and tested in classrooms across campus through quick-answer buzzer questions and thought-provoking group challenge questions. MIT Sea Grant's Kathryn Shroyer, regional co-coordinator for the event, said this year's competition was specially designed to provide more game play to all teams. "In the past many teams were eliminated from the competition by early afternoon," explained Shroyer, "so there wasn't enough incentive for all of them to stick around until the end and participate in other activities and the closing award ceremony."
During the first phase of the competition all 24 teams from the 15 participating high schools competed in a Round Robin Tournament, each team playing 5 matches. The schools included: Acton-Boxborough Regional High School, Brookline High School, Cambridge Rindge and Latin School, Chelmsford High School, Community Academy of Science and Health, Fitchburg High School, Jeremiah E. Burke High School, Lexington High School, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School, Marblehead High School, Newton North High School, Newton South High School, North Andover High School, North Reading High School, and Phillips Academy.

Following the Round Robin, the top 8 teams; Lexington High School A, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School A, Newton North High School A, Cambridge Rindge and Latin School, Acton-Boxborough Regional High School A, Lexington High School B, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School B, and Newton North High School B advanced to a Single Elimination Tournament. Lexington High School’s Team A, being the winner of the final round, is the regional champion and will represent Massachusetts at the 17th Annual National Ocean Sciences Bowl Finals tournament at the University of Washington in May 2014.

The remaining 16 teams who did not participate in the Single Elimination Tournament competed in the McDowell Science Challenge for the McDowell Award for Excellence in Academic Collaboration, which is a new competition element added this year to assess and strengthen students' creative problem solving skills. The winner of this award went to Fitchburg High School’s Team A, with Acton-Boxborough Regional High School’s Team B as the runner up.

type: Videos / DVDs

This publication is not currently available from MIT Sea Grant. Please try again later or contact MIT Sea Grant for more information.

Parent Project

Project No.: 2014-C/A-4
Title: Communications

Other publications by this author (as Lead)