November 20, 2015

Hayoon Chung is the 2015 Dean Horn Award winner

Congratulations to Hayoon Chung the 2015 Dean Horn Award winner! Hayoon was selected for her research on how oil dispersants effect the speed at which oil droplets disperse.

Understanding the potential effects of mitigation strategies for cleaning up an oil spill are critical. Hayoon's advisor Eric Adams and his graduate student Cindy Wang are involved in research on how oil dispersants effect clean up efforts for deep sea oil spills.

The Dean Horn winner is selected from the MIT undergraduate student body for excellence in design and execution of his/her research project, with an emphasis on clear communication of his/her results in a well-written paper.

Dean A. Horn was Director of MIT Sea Grant from 1975 to 1982. The Award originated upon his retirement in 1983, when friends and colleagues established the award in his name to honor and perpetuate Horn's many contributions to undergraduate marine education: his spirit of service, creativity, pursuit of excellence, and tireless application to research.

An award of $1000 and a certificate are presented yearly to selected undergraduate students with the most deserving marine-related projects.

For more about how to nominate students for the Dean Horn Award: Dean Horn Award