May 17, 2011

Nominations for Dean A. Horn Award for Undergraduate Study in Marine Research due at MIT Sea Grant May 20.

The MIT Sea Grant College Program is now accepting nominations for the 2011 Dean A. Horn Award for Undergraduate Study in Marine Research, an award that honors Horn's ideals: service, creativity, pursuit of excellence and tireless application to research. The deadline for nominations is Friday, May 20.

Nomination of candidates is by letter from the student's faculty supervisor and must be accompanied by the student’s research report. Students are encouraged to ask their faculty supervisor for a nomination. Faculty members may submit one or more nominations each year.

Final selection will be made by Sea Grant Director and Professor Chryssostomos Chryssostomidis in consultation with members the Sea Grant Faculty Advisory Committee.

Last year’s award went to Joe Conte, of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, for his paper, "Fast-starting robotic fish."

For a complete list of past winners and for more information about the Dean Horn award, visit

For further information please contact Kathy de Zengotita, Room E38-300, 617-253-7042,

Quick Links