Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship

The MIT Sea Grant College Program administers nominations each winter for the National Sea Grant College Program Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship. Established in 1979, the Fellowship provides a unique opportunity to students interested in ocean and coastal resources and in the national policy decisions affecting them. The Knauss program matches highly qualified graduate students with "hosts" in the legislative and executive branch of government in the Washington, D.C. area, for a one-year, paid fellowship. The program is named in honor of one of Sea Grant's founders, former NOAA Administrator, John A. Knauss.


Any student, regardless of citizenship, who is in a graduate or professional program in a marine or aquatic-related field at a Massachusetts accredited institution of higher education may apply for the Knauss through the MIT Sea Grant program. However, non-US citizens applying through MIT SG should check with MIT SG Assistant Director Tim Downes ( / 617-253-7138) regarding restrictions on eligibility.

Length of Assignment

The length of assignment is one-year (non-renewable). The inclusive dates of the official fellowship are February 1- January 31; however, these dates can be slightly adjusted to accommodate academic semester needs.

How To Apply

Please apply for the Knauss through your state Sea Grant office – in Massachusetts, contact either MIT Sea Grant or Woods Hole Sea Grant. MIT applicants will be given access to our online system by our administrator; specifics of the required documents for a complete application are listed and described on the National Sea Grant Knauss application website.

For more information, send email to

Previous Winners

2017 Kate McClure - Northeastern University, Boston
2015 Casey Diederich - Tufts University, Medford
2015 Ben Carr - Boston University, Boston
2013 Santhiska Pather - University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
2012 Fern Gibbons - Woods Hole / MIT Joint Program
2011 Caitlin Frame - Woods Hole / MIT Joint Program
2009 Abigail Franklin - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
2004 Jennifer Brewer - Clark University
2003 Rachel Adams - MIT Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
2002 Winnie Chan - Tufts University
2001 Katherine Croff - MIT Dept. of Ocean Engineering
1996 Samantha Woods - University of Massachusetts, Boston
1995 Eric Dolin - MIT Dept. of Urban Studies and Planning
Justin LeBlanc - Harvard University
1993 Shane Merz - MIT Dept. of Ocean Engineering
1992 Deidre Kimball - University of Massachusetts, Boston
1991 Sam Pett - University of Massachusetts, Boston
1990 Matt Huston - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
1988 Michael R. Nelson - MIT Dept. of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

This page was last modified: January 12, 2018 9:44 am

MIT Sea Grant News

Salt Marsh Response & Resilience to Changing Conditions: Prospects for Management
MIT Sea Grant... 11 / 5 / 2018

Keith Ellenbogen swims next to a large Great White Shark in Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary!
MIT Sea Grant... 8 / 28 / 2018

NOAA Sea Grant and Fisheries announce 2018 Joint Fellowship Recipients
8 / 20 / 2018


more announcements >


more dates >